Sam

../../../_images/default_banner_06.jpg

When one decision, made with the best of intentions can cause you unexpected problems, it can make you wonder “Where is life taking me?” It was a normal work day at the Co-op Polegate where I worked, when I was forced to make a decision on the spur of the moment. I was called from the till and left a trainee unsupervised and with access to the till. The consequence was ultimately my dismissal from the store. One moment I was an established employee with over two years service, the next I was unemployed. It was a bit of a shock!

The Co-op was not my dream job. It was fill in until I worked out what to do with my ICT qualifications. However, it had become comfortable and I was not even thinking about a long term career.

God was good and Peter and Karen Martin offered me work at Spring Harvest doing recording at seminars. I spent a good two weeks enjoying a new type of work. This got me thinking about what I wanted to do. I wanted to work in ICT and especially with web site design.

One night when I was helping at Rock Solid, my dad remembered that KJ Duursma,our former associate pastor, ran a web design company. He asked KJ if there were any books or programmes he could buy for me to help me on my way in to web design. KJ’s response was to offer me some work experience.

Now, I have started that apprenticeship and am thoroughly enjoying it. God works in mysterious ways. “I know the plans I have for you” but sometimes we fail to see them. It is only when I look back and reflect that I see that God had his hand in these events.

This week at Victoria

April 2018

Sunday 22nd April 2018

Sunday Celebration Service  9.30am in Main Auditorium

Sunday Reflections Service  11.15am in Main Auditorium

Tuesday 24th April 2018

Kids' Football 5.30pm to 6.30pm in Gildredge House Sports Hall

Wednesday 25th April 2018

CAMEO  10.00 am to 12.00pm in Welcome Centre

Sunday 29th April 2018

5th Sunday Celebration  10.30am in Main Auditorium

May 2018

Tuesday 1st May 2018

Kids' Football 5.30pm to 6.30pm in Gildredge House Sports Hall

Sunday 6th May 2018

Sunday Celebration Service  9.30am in Main Auditorium

Sunday Reflections Service  11.15am in Main Auditorium

Encounter - Worship Event  5.30pm to 6.30pm in Main Auditorium

Tuesday 8th May 2018

Kids' Football 5.30pm to 6.30pm in Gildredge House Sports Hall

Saturday 12th May 2018

Flow Cafe  10.00am to 12.00noon in Ground Floor

Sunday 13th May 2018

Sunday Reflections Service  11.15am in Main Auditorium

Tuesday 15th May 2018

Kids' Football 5.30pm to 6.30pm in Gildredge House Sports Hall

Sunday 20th May 2018

Sunday Celebration Service  9.30am in Main Auditorium

Sunday Reflections Service  11.15am in Main Auditorium

Evening Service  5.30pm to 6.30pm in Main Auditorium

Monday 21st May 2018

Cardarama 7.30pm to 9.30pm in Welcome Centre

Tuesday 22nd May 2018

Kids' Football 5.30pm to 6.30pm in Gildredge House Sports Hall

Sunday 27th May 2018

Sunday Celebration Service  9.30am in Main Auditorium

Sunday Reflections Service  11.15am in Main Auditorium

June 2018

Sunday 3rd June 2018

Sunday Celebration Service  9.30am in Main Auditorium

Sunday Reflections Service  11.15am in Main Auditorium

Encounter - Worship Event  5.30pm to 6.30pm in Main Auditorium

Sunday 10th June 2018

Family Service  9.30am in Main Auditorium

Sunday Reflections Service  11.15am in Main Auditorium

Sunday 17th June 2018

Sunday Reflections Service  11.15am in Main Auditorium

Evening Service  5.30pm to 6.30pm in Main Auditorium

Sunday 24th June 2018

Sunday Celebration Service  9.30am in Main Auditorium

Sunday Reflections Service  11.15am in Main Auditorium

July 2018

Sunday 1st July 2018

Sunday Celebration Service  9.30am in Main Auditorium

Saturday 14th July 2018

Flow Cafe  10.00am to 12.00noon in Ground Floor

View full calendar

Youth and Children